青少年收容所

Juvenile Justice Center (JJC)

舊金山市立圖書館在少年司法中心JJC為這里收容的青少年和工作人員提供圖書館相關服務。感謝舊金山校區Woodside學習中心和少年緩刑部的共同努力,這里的青少年可以每周來訪圖書館。我們為他們提供服務包括:閱讀建議、參考資料講解、作者訪問、CCSF介紹會和各種於他們相關的服務。這里的青少年通常說他們閱讀的機會比他們在外面時更多,還有很多人說在這里他們閱讀了他們一生中的第一本書。他們的閱讀熱情使他們的閱讀能力提高的很快,且導致他們出去之后堅持的閱讀。

“圖書館對這里青少年來說非常的重要。圖書館員收到尊敬,他們也非常的樂于幫助這些青少年。當這些少年走進圖書館時,可以找到他們想要讀的書。許多的書籍都是與青少年成長中的掙扎有關的。圖書館員盡最大的努力為他們找到他們想要閱讀的書籍。這里的青少年需要圖書館服務,他們不至于虛度時間,重新發現自己。這是我到過的最好的圖書館” -- Dillon, 16歲

與我們聯絡

Log Cabin Ranch

在LCR – Log Cabin Ranch圖書館為這里被關押的舊金山青少年提供服務。這里的少年被法庭指令需要用一年的時間來進行上學、工作就業訓練、咨詢輔導或是治療。他們來訪圖書館每周兩次,借閱圖書或是期刊。圖書館提供有電視和DVD播放機、Wii游戲機、兩個iPad和一部手提電腦,可用來制作音樂、看電影和玩游戲。手工活動也非常的受歡迎,他們學習織毛線帽子、做首飾、藝術品和其他多種工藝品。

JJC和Log Cabin Ranch的收藏與圖書館的總收藏是分開的。我們鼓勵這里的青少年申請圖書證,這樣他們被釋放之后可以繼續成為圖書館的用戶。

與我們聯絡

Youth in Custody

Juvenile Justice Center (JJC)

SFPL operates a library at Juvenile Justice Center (JJC), providing comprehensive library services to youth in custody as well as the JJC staff. Youth visit the library weekly thanks to the support of the San Francisco Unified School District’s Woodside Learning Center and the Juvenile Probation Department. Youth receive extensive reader’s advisory and reference services, and the librarian schedules author visits, City College of San Francisco information sessions, and other programs relevant to youth in custody. Youth at JJC frequently report that they read more books while in custody than in their everyday life, and many report that they finished their first book ever while at JJC. Their enthusiasm for reading often leads to a significant improvement in their reading level and to an interest in self-directed learning that continues after their release.

"The library at JJC is a very important place for juveniles locked up here. The librarian is very respectful and helpful. When you walk into the library here at JJC you can find a book that you want, as well as a book you can relate to. Many of the books are about the struggles of teen years. If you cannot find the book you want the librarian will do the best she can to get the book you want into the library. Having a library at a juvenile center is crucial in passing the time for many juveniles and many learn from reading the books here. The JJC library is an excellent place to discover things about yourself and your reading preferences. The JJC library is the best library I have ever been to." --Dillon, age 16

Contact us

Log Cabin Ranch

The library at Log Cabin Ranch (LCR) serves incarcerated teenagers from San Francisco, who have been ordered by the juvenile court to spend approximately one year completing a program that includes school, job skills training, counseling, and therapy. LCR residents visit the library twice a week and can borrow and request books and magazines. The library is equipped with a TV and DVD player, a Wii gaming system, two iPads, and a laptop, which residents use to make music, watch movies, and play games like MarioKart and Madden. Crafts are popular at the LCR library, and residents are able to knit and wear their own colorful beanies, as well as make jewelry, artwork, and duct tape creations.

The JJC and Log Cabin Ranch programs circulate a stand-alone collection that is not connected to the larger SFPL collection. Residents at both facilities are encouraged to sign up for library cards so they can continue being library users after their release.

Contact us